DOTD announces aviation award winners
Thursday, November 09, 2023 at 12:45:25 PM
Baton Rouge – The Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development (DOTD) announces the winners of the recipients of Louisiana Airports of the Year, David Slayter Memorial Aviation Professional of the Year, and the Allen Taylor Legacy awards. The awards were presented on November 7, at the 2023 Louisiana Airport Managers and Associates Annual Conference held at the Hotel Bentley in Alexandria, Louisiana.

“On behalf of the whole department, congratulations to our award winners,” said DOTD Secretary Eric Kalivoda, Ph.D. “The multimodal commerce aspect is a major component of the agency, and air travel is a critical and important part of our infrastructure for passengers and cargo alike.”

The award winners are as follows:

“Congratulations to Brad Kutchins, George Groh, Joshua Duplantis, and Anthony Marino, as well as the Baton Rouge Metropolitan Airport and Kelly-Dumas Airport, for being winners of these prestigious awards,” said DOTD Commissioner of Multimodal Commerce Renee A. Lapeyrolerie. “We’re thrilled to recognize excellence in aviation, and we’re proud to have these winners represent that mode of transportation in our state.”

The awards recognize the hardworking airport sponsors and aviation professionals in Louisiana, and the Louisiana Airport of the Year and David Slayter Memorial Aviation Professional of the Year, and the Allen Taylor Legacy awards recognize superior achievement and leadership in the state’s aviation field. These awards honor excellence and professionalism at all levels of airport operations.

To be considered eligible for the Airport of the Year award, an airport must have managed all maintenance inspection issues, managed all significant safety-related features, and made a significant impact on aviation through safety improvements/practices, construction, development, or management of aviation resources.